#1 Linda M

Linda M

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • LocationUK
  • Sepsis Aware:Affected by Sepsis

Posted 30 January 2017 - 01:14 am

Hi this is my first time on this forum.  I lost my husband to sepsis last month.  I don't have much to say except that after surviving three life threatening major operations, his aftercare appeared lacking in so many ways and no-one seemed to get to grips with the sepsis with any enthusiasm or skill.  He was discharged home with an obvious infection, lasted 48 hours then back to hospital as an emergency and died five days later.  He had been diagnosed with a life limiting condition which would have ended his life in a couple of years in any case and I believe they just abandoned him because of this, denying us those precious two years we could have had together.  I had to challenge the hospital regarding the cause of death, and eventually got them to agree sepsis as the cause.  I am going to complain and look into possible negligence. There's something wrong with an NHS that cannot recognise treatable infections.  The lack of skill and intelligence among nursing staff was astonishing.  Friends and family have donated almost £700 so far for the Sepsis Trust in lieu of funeral flowers.  

#2 Larry

Larry

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 39 posts
  • LocationUK
  • Sepsis Aware:Healthcare Professional

Posted 30 January 2017 - 08:56 am

HI Moz

So sorry to hear about the loss husband last month and that your experience is that the people looking after him failed to provide the care he deserved. Thank you for your generous donation to the trust. If you would like to talk to the support team at UK sepsis about what happened to your husband please feel free to call us on 0800 3896255 or you can email me directly on larry@sepsistrust.org

Larry

#3 Linda M

Linda M

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 31 January 2017 - 02:28 am

Hi Larry