Leeny

Moving on from sepsis

Hi, I'm new to the page and was hoping to chat with other survivors about moving on from having sepsis.

I recently spent two weeks in hospital after having severe cellulitis which spread to my lymph nodes and caused sepsis. It all happened in less than 24 hours, my temperature was 39.7, my blood pressure was low and my heart rate was 104. I was in alot of pain and the orthopaedic surgeon discussed removing tissue he suspected was dying off which could have resulted in the loss of my leg. Fortunately they were quick to diagnose and treat and antibiotic drips helped battle the infection. After 14 nights on 7 antibiotic drips a day, I was discharged with oral antibiotics for a week.

Since returning home I've struggled to get my head around how poorly I was and sometimes I feel like it didn't happen to me. I feel scared that it's going to happen again and that maybe next time I won't be as lucky. I have today been diagnosed with cellulitis again and have been placed back on doxycycline for 2 weeks but I'm so paranoid.

I know I'm so lucky compared to other stories I've read, but I just wanted to share my story and get any advice I can about moving on.