JennawithaG

I lost my mum so suddenly

I am 35, my sister is 37. My Mum was 65 when my sister found her dead on 25th March 2016.

She had been unwell with a bug that was going round for about a week, but by the 22nd she was feeling better. On the 24th she called her GP practice, told them she had had a bug but now had severe abdominal pains. As per usual she was triaged by a nurse who told her it was viral and the Doctor wouldn't visit. Between 10pm that night and 6am the next morning she had died.

We have just got the full autopsy report and it is so hard to take in. I am a Nurse but I cant see it clearly because it relates to my mum, and I cant cope with those words describing her...

It seems to say she died from an Upper Respiratory Tract infection, with generalised sepsis related to ovarian vein thrombosis...

She was on her own when she died. Alone in the house with just her dog beside her. My dad died 4 and a half years ago. We feel so alone now.

She wasn't ready to go, she was fit and looked after her granddaughter daily. 

I feel like the GP practice let her down, but I suppose that's normal.

J

So sorry to hear your story. My sister died from sepsis very suddenly in January last year. She had just turned 30. She thought she had flu, was only poorly for 10 hours, she then began to be sick, get stomach pains and felt very hot as sweaty. Her fiancé called paramedics who came out and saw her but did not recognise the signs and how sick she was. They left her at home and told her to drink water and rest. She collapsed just after they left and died in hospital 2 hours later.

Sepsis is so cruel. My thoughts are with you and your sister. X

Hello Jenna

I am so sorry to read your news.

Even being a nurse doesn't stop you from feeling devastated as it was your lovely mum.