2005rachel0

forgetful & knackered!

Hi all, I just wondered if anyone else feels the same way as me and can tell me how long until they felt like themselves again...

I had severe sepsis in April this year, 13 days in ICU, 18 days in total in hospital. In the last 2 weeks I've gone back to work on a phased return basis (I'm a primary school teacher) but going back to work has left me shattered and its becoming more and more obvious how forgetful I've got and how much vocabulary I've lost while I've been off. I hadn't realised how many problems I was going to have with 'lost' words.

Up until going back to work I felt really good, my energy was coming back, most other post sepsis syndrome niggles had subsided or disappeared altogether. But now I'm totally fed up. All my planning I'm doing for my lessons is taking an awful long time, I've forgotten how to do so much stuff. 

I'm also fed up with how much I weigh, I've had a phase of 'I'm alive, let's enjoy life and eat everything' but now my jeans don't fit! I'm so shattered from starting work that I can't even contemplate running or swimming like I used to. 

I'm really fed up today.

Hi Rachel, sorry to hear you’re a bit fed up today. After reading your post I think you’re doing well to be back at work. It does take time to get over what you have been through and it’s still early days. Be good to yourself, bit by bit you’ll notice improvements and whenever you can try and rest. Wishing you well, Dave.

Hi Rachel, your post made me smile......not because I think your difficulties are in anyway funny, it's just that I'm also having "one of those days".