Jazzygirl15

feeling guilty and not coping with this at all :(

Hi all,

I am struggling with my Sepsis survival at the moment. Care manager (as I'm disabled) is making me feel guilty as hell for still being here... yes I'm going through that guilt stage, which is weird and feels really stupid to me, because having sepsis horrifically scared me. My head is going through replay hell and coping with uni work not happening. I just want 'it' to go away, the memories, flashbacks, replays, the guilt to leave me alone for ONE DAY! A week would be nice but a day would be a start.

I am currently waiting until July 3rd to see the psychiatrist then probably through another 'hoop' and another waiting list after that and holidays in between.

Meanwhile, my degree is on the line because of how I'm feeling (re: struggling with survival feelings) and I'm gonna speak to my student liaison officer Monday. I just dunno how I'm gonna get through this mess (in my head) and where my degree's gonna end up from here. Friday night I sat and cried on a friend's shoulder Feel like I'm hitting the floor slowly and very frustrated

Anyone been where I am with these issues? What should I do, doctors? other than Anti Depressants and the waiting list for therapy after psychiatrist I am at an utter loss of how to cope with this. It's rubbish and making me feel that way too. I have a 2,500 word essay to try and get in for end of July and at the rate my heads going it just wont happen... feeling very upset

I completely empathise with how you are feeling!

I had sepsis 3 years ago, I can still remember clearly how I felt during the different stages of my physical and mental recovery process.

I'm pleased to say that with the right help, you can feel better and learn how to deal with the emotions you feel at the moment! It's not "getting over" what's happened to you that I think is important, it's learning how to deal with it and put life into perspective again.